2018 Results

2018 Results

2018 was a good year for Colorado Democrats. We swept the statewide offices, won the majority of Congressional seats, flipped the State Senate, and expanded our majority in the State House.

Congratulations to our next governor, Jared Polis. He won resoundingly with over 51% of the vote and will offer bold leadership for Colorado.

In Congressional races, Colorado Democrats now control four of the seven seats. Congratulations to Jason Crow, who defeated Mike Coffman in Congressional District 6. Congratulations to Joe Neguse, who replaces Jared Polis in Congress representing Congressional District 2. They will join fellow Colorado Democrats Diana DeGette (CD1) and Ed Perlmutter (CD7) in Washington DC and we celebrate their re-elections as well.

Phil Weiser will serve as our next Attorney General, succeeding Cynthia Coffman.

Jena Griswold will be our next Secretary of State, defeating Wayne Williams.

Dave Young will serve as our next State Treasurer, beating Brian Watson.

With the elections of Phil Weiser, Jena Griswold, and Dave Young to statewide office, this is the first time Democrats have held the same offices concurrently in generations. Congratulations to all three.

Congratulations to Lesley Smith who will serve as our next CU Regent At-Large.

The Colorado Senate Democrats flipped the State Senate and now have a 19-16 majority. Congratulations to the following on the wins in 2018:

  • Leroy Garcia
  • Kerry Donovan
  • Pete Lee
  • Tammy Story
  • Jessie Danielson
  • Brittany Pettersen
  • Faith Winter
  • Robert Rodriguez
  • Julie Gonzales

The Colorado House Democrats expanded their majority, winning these seats that had previously been held by Republicans:

  • Lisa Cutter, House District 25
  • Kyle Mullica, House District 34
  • Tom Sullivan, House District 37

Every Democratic member who sought re-election was returned to the State House by voters for another term:

  • Susan Lontine
  • Alec Garnett
  • Chris Hansen
  • James Coleman
  • Leslie Herod
  • Jeff Bridges
  • Mike Weissman
  • Janet Buckner
  • Jovan Melton
  • Dominique Jackson
  • Edie Hooton
  • Jonathan Singer
  • KC Becker
  • Tony Exum, Sr.
  • Chris Kennedy
  • Tracy Kraft-Tharp
  • Dylan Roberts
  • Dafna Michaelson Jenet
  • Adrienne Benavidez
  • Matt Gray
  • Daneya Esgar
  • Joann Ginal
  • Jeni James Arndt
  • Barbara McLachlan
  • Donald Valdez

Also joining the House Democratic caucus for the first time in 2019 will be:

  • Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez
  • Alex Valdez
  • Emily Sirota
  • Sonya Jaquez Lewis
  • Marc Snyder
  • Monica Duran
  • Kerry Tipper
  • Yadira Caraveo
  • Shannon Bird
  • Julie McCluskie

Further election results can be found here.