TWO MORE YEARS! Colorado Dems Unanimously Re-elect Carroll as State Chair for Third Term

TWO MORE YEARS! Colorado Dems Unanimously Re-elect Carroll as State Chair for Third Term

Photo Credit: Ernest Luning, Colorado Politics

Denver, CO – On the heels of Democrats’ record-breaking victories in 2020, the Colorado Democratic Party’s state central committee voted today by acclamation to re-elect Morgan Carroll as state party chair for a third term.

A former Colorado senate president, candidate for Congress, and attorney, Morgan has overseen the Colorado Democratic Party as chair since her first election in 2017. Over her two terms, Colorado Democrats have seen a number of victories, including:

  • Defeating Senator Cory Gardner and Congressman Mike Coffman, and electing Democrats John Hickenlooper and Jason Crow to those seats.
  • Winning the majority in the Colorado Senate in 2018, and growing that majority to 20 members in 2020.
  • Growing the Colorado House Democratic majority to 41 seats, flipping multiple seats from red to blue.
  • Winning a Democratic majority on the CU Board of Regents for the first time in nearly 40 years.
  • Defeat 100% of Colorado Republicans’ 2019 sham recall attempts.
  • Smashing voter turnout records for the State of Colorado and across the U.S.

Morgan Carroll, Chair of the Colorado Democratic Party:

“I am so honored and humbled to be trusted by my fellow Democrats to continue to lead our state party going into the critical 2022 midterm elections. Our Democratic victories across Colorado didn’t happen by accident or overnight. It took years of hard work and organizing to lay the groundwork of registering voters and  Together, working with grassroots activists and community leaders in every county and all four corners of Colorado, we worked to elect honorable and qualified leaders to every office possible who put in the work to build a better future for all Coloradans. We don’t take any vote, nor any seat for granted, and the results of 2018 and 2020 speak for themselves.

“While I am so proud of all the amazing accomplishments of our Colorado Democrats both in Washington, DC and across Colorado who have delivered for working families, there is a lot more work to do. I am fired up to ensure that Republicans won’t take us backwards, that we re-elect all of our Democrats in Congress and here in Colorado, and that we continue to build a big tent Democratic Party that will continue to organize and win into the future.”

Carroll was re-elected to her position by a unanimous vote of acclamation. The results of the elections for the other CDP officers will be announced in the evening of Monday, March 22 after members of the central committee vote by electronic ballot. In addition to the existing positions of 1st and 2nd Vice Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, Vice Chair of Rural Outreach, 2 Vice Chairs of Outreach, and Vice Chair of Communications, the CDP has added a 3rd position of Vice Chair of Outreach and an Assistant Secretary position. 

The candidates running are:

  • Howard Chou* – 1st Vice Chair
  • Sandy Baca-Sandoval* – 2nd Vice Chair
  • Rosanna Reyes* – Treasurer
  • Bob Seay* & Scott Sloan – Secretary
  • Josh Trupin – Assistant Secretary
  • Jeremy VanHooser* – Vice Chair of Outreach (1)
  • Xochitl Gaytan* – Vice Chair of Outreach (2)
  • Lisa Neal Graves – Vice Chair of Outreach (3)
  • Sheila Canfield Jones* – Vice Chair of Rural Outreach
  • Patricia Barela Rivera* – Vice Chair of Communications

*Denotes incumbents running for re-election.